Dear everyone(I won’t say readers since I don’t have any yet),

Sunday Funday will consist of me weekly ranting about different bookish things or making lists. I thought, since this is my first “Sunday Funday” post, I’ll start it off with a classic Top Five.

So, this week I will present to you, in no particular order, my Top Five Books/Series.

  1. A Little Life by Hanya Yanigahara; this book is genuinely one of the best books I have ever read. It is one book, 700 pages, and the most poignant story that has ever been written. The writing is raw, yet wholesome. Without giving much away it’s about A Little Life, of friends and family and how growing up means losing your innocence. It’s about a human’s deepest fears, whether it be assault or lack of success, and how some can be overcome but also about how there is no fear without a cause. “The daily effort it took to appear normal was so great that it left energy for little else.”
  2. Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sáenz; Read this book. That is all I have to say. Because if I say anything more I might lock up a door inside me I have been stacking objects in front for a very long time.
  3. The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald; I didn’t read this for school when I was supposed to, instead I picked it up on Christmas eve a year after high school, a year into university. And every year, I return to it. It is simply captivating and extravagant, a man from nothing becomes everything. The American Dream. And then he gets shot. The American Life.
  4. The Silver Linings Playbook by Matthew Quick; I could write an entire book based on this book. Each chapter could deal with every thing that made me grip my chest in pain. I could write a companion book about the things that made me laugh. And I could write a sequel about how warm it made me feel. But ultimately, that trilogy would still not capture the essence of this master-piece. Screw all those pages I could write, because ultimately, I would just like to confess my deep admiration for how this book handled mental health.
  5. The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater; It’s these books that make it worth while to go through a billion crappy ones. These books that make you break down when you want to be strong, books that melt into your fingers and refuse to let go, stories that make their mark in your heart. Maybe this isn’t the best book series ever. Maybe this isn’t even a good series at all. But it changed me. It left me a little bit more mature than I was 4 books ago, a little bit more aware of how happiness isn’t always where we want it to be.

And, an honorary mention for the Harry Potter Series by J.K. Rowling. Her books absolutely changed my life and therefore it would be unfair, unimaginable, and impertinent of me to include it in a LIST with other books…

dpaq5ql

Leave a Reply

