Musing Mondays is a weekly meme hosted by booksandabeat that asks you to choose one of the following prompts to answer:
I’m currently reading…

Up next I think I’ll read…

I bought the following book(s) in the past week…

I’m super excited to tell you about (book/author/bookish-news)…

I’m really upset by (book/author/bookish-news)…

I can’t wait to get a copy of…

I wish I could read ___, but…

I blogged about ____ this past week…

THIS WEEK’S RANDOM QUESTION: Do you prefer fast-paced novels, or slow, descriptive novels?

____________________

I’m really upset by the resent events circling the book The Continent by Keira Drake. Book-twitter has deemed it highly racist whilst it’s fans have gone on the defence. What saddens me isn’t that there’s a published racist book. It is not the discussion either. It’s the manner of discussion on the author and fan’s part. Yes, we get it, you love this book but listen. PoC are silenced in so many communities, it is tragic that the book community would turn on PoC as well. If any community should be able to empathise with PoC it should be the book community… So, I’m really upset by how our community has handled this. Because it makes me, and other PoC, feel yet again like outsiders. Yes, we may be answering with rage and in all caps BUT THAT’S BECAUSE WE ARE NOT USED TO BEING HEARD AND YOU ARE NOT LISTENING TO US EITHER!

So please, reader friends, do this to make me less upset: ask a PoC why they are offended by a book that you love. Maybe you’ll learn something new, maybe you’ll be more resigned in your original opinion. But ask and extend the privilege of being heard without being condemned to your fellow PoC bookish friends.

For this week’s random question my answer is that I prefer slow, descriptive fast-paced novels. What I mean is that I like something in-between fast and slow. An example is every Harry Potter book… They start off slow, nothing happens until the last 100 or so pages, but you can’t say they’re slow-paced nor can you say they’re fast paced. They’re in the in-between, where you’ll find me hanging out.

Speaking of book-paces… I’m halfway through Crooked Kingdom and this book is blowing me away. This is the most fast-paced, action-packed, character-rich YA fantasy book I have ever read. It has quickly become one of my favourite series! And despite knowing what’s awaiting me at the end of the psychedelic tunnel that Leigh Bardugo has guided us through I cannot wait to finish it!

Side note: there was no Sunday Funday post due to having had to study for my genetics exam. It went okay. Except for this one question I think I fumbled, but you can’t expect to get 100% in med school… It’s simply impossible!

Leave a Reply

