Musing Mondays is a weekly meme hosted by booksandabeat that asks you to choose one of the following prompts to answer:
I’m currently reading…

Up next I think I’ll read…

I bought the following book(s) in the past week…

I’m super excited to tell you about (book/author/bookish-news)…

I’m really upset by (book/author/bookish-news)…

I can’t wait to get a copy of…

I wish I could read ___, but…

I blogged about ____ this past week…

THIS WEEK’S RANDOM QUESTION: How has your reading changed in the last 10 years?

____________________

This week has been incredibly busy and I have been on four flights whilst simultaneously studying for my paediatric rotation and preparing for a genetic conference that I will speak at… So, my blogging has been lacking as well as my reading.

But I have two books making their way to me this week, so I can’t wait to get a copy of these beautiful copies of Dracula and Frankenstein. I cannot get over how stunning the covers are. I think I’ve blogged about them before but they are soooo nice! You can find them on Bookdepository.

For this weeks random question; 10 years ago I was 11, when I was going through a few tough years and my reading was equally tough.

At 11, I mostly read adult fiction like Ondskan by Jan Guillou, Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter by Tom Franklin, Marley and Me by John Grogan, and Revolutionary Road by Richard Yates. I think it was a coping mechanism and me trying to make sense of the chaotic world I was living in… The only “children’s” book I did allow myself to read, and reread a million times in three different languages, were the Harry Potter books.

Not until a few years ago did I allow myself to read YA and middlegrade. I was 20 when I first picked up Rick Riordan’s books and found myself thoroughly enjoying them.

Adult books are very dense and require a level of contemplation afterwards. That’s why I never got through more than 10 books a year. Now I can easily reach 30, despite having a heavy workload and busy schedule. You could say my reading has reverted; gone from reading adult literature and having existential crises along with the middle aged characters to tenseness and adventure that YA and middlegrade books offer. Therefore, I can seem quite harsh in my old reviews. It is not until now that I have let off my scepticism and let stories and characters just wash over me. I think this year I have given more 5-star ratings than ever before…

Sorry for the long answer to a very simple question, but I doubt anyone will ever read to the end of this. If you do, comment with your favourite book cover!

Leave a Reply

