Every Wednesday I will be posting Wonder Crush Wednesday which will be dedicated to non-cis-het-white-males. These posts will be for my amazing ladies, my amazing poc, my amazing lgtbqai+ community, my amazing authors/characters/other that were not born with the same privilege white men were…

I’ve seen a lot of people doing Non Fiction November so I thought I’d compile a list of diverse non-fiction. They’re mostly going to be memoirs and biographies because those are the kind of books I read.

1. We Should All Be Feminists by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

22738563

2. Yes My Accent Is Real by Kunal Nayyar

3. The Pluto Files by Neil DeGrasse Tyson (only read a small part over my sisters shoulder but thoroughly enjoyed that snippet, will pick it up some day…)

4. The Freedom Writers Diary by Erin Gruwell (although not by a PoC, it is a classic diverse non-fiction introduced in schools and a very good one)

5. Ada Twist, Scientist by Andrea Beaty (although white, her books include children of colour in the narrative)

6. The Good Immigrant by Nikesh Shukla

Essays from non-white writers in Britain and their experiences. I have not read this but heard so much about it and really want to share it with everyone. Hopefully it’s not problematic, which I don’t think it is, since it’s written by people of colour.

Unfortunately, that concludes my list for this week. The problem is that I don’t read a lot of non-fiction other than my course literature that is mainly written by white authors. But I hope this allows for a gateway into more diverse nonfiction.

Leave a Reply

