toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish in June 2010. Each week they will post a new Top Ten list  that everyone is welcome to do!


Thanksgiving freebie — tell us what you are thankful for! Books you are thankful for!


I don’t celebrate Thanksgiving because I’m not American but here is a list of 10 books I’m thankful for!

  1. The Harry Potter Series by JK Rowling: Harry Potter introduced me to what reading should be like. My life would be very different without Harry Potter and all the other characters in it. This series allowed a release from growing up and the stress from that!giphy.gif
  2. Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo: This series increased my standards for books. It is possible to write an interesting and well developed book that is simultaneously diverse and inclusive! But the second book in the duology is such a fantastic follow-up to Six of Crows and an incredible piece on its own.
  3. The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald: I read this book every year and it means so much to me… I am incredibly thankful for this story of a man that built himself everything from scraps of nothing.
  4. A Little Life by Hanya Yanigahara: I’m thankful for this book because it changed how I look at life. It also challenged the reason I even am in med school… Some people just can’t be saved and our duty is to just be there for them rather than try to fix them.
  5. Does my head look big in this? by Randa Abdel-Fattah: Not so secretly, I wear a hijab, but when I decided to put it on for the first time I was told not to by everyone… Literally everyone! My parents, my grandparents, my friends, my family, society, everyone. Except one teacher that bought this book for me and told me to do what I felt was right. So it will always have a special place in my heart.
  6. The Silver Linings Playbook by Matthew Quick: This book is really short but very cute and informative. It is told from the perspective of Pat Peoples that has just been released from a psychiatric hospital after years but believes to just have been away for months. This is probably some of the rawest pieces of writing I have ever read, told in first person with self-exploration and realisation of delusion. I am thankful for this because it brought me out of a massive reading slump I had been in. It also brought me and my former best friend closer together! It also inspired this iconic scene:tumblr_mzu7wogfg31sddhppo1_500
  7. And the Mountains Echoed by Khaled Hosseini: I’m incredibly thankful for this book because it is one of the few diverse books that was available at our school library.
  8. Fight Club by Chuck Palahniuk: This is one of my top ten favourite books of all time! I love the foreword for it where the author explains the origin and inspiration for the book. It has discouraged me from ever again eating at a restaurant again but I’m thankful to have read this for its sheer genius!
  9. Stupid White Men by Michael Moore: Believe it or not I read this book when I was just 12 years old! I don’t remember anything from it but I know it really woke me up from the dulling that society had lulled me into. His other book “Will they ever trust us again?” is also one of my favourite books of his. It is a collection of letters from various soldiers stationed all over the world. I am thankful for having been woken up by Michael Moore at such a young age!
  10. The Merchant of Venice by William Shakespeare: Maybe an odd choice but I am truly grateful for this play. Although I bet Shakespeare is very problematic by just being a white cishet male, this was a truly iconic piece for me. It was written in a time when there was much tension between the Christians and Jews in Europe.

Leave a Reply

