In Sweden, where I’m from, we celebrate Advent every Sunday leading up to Christmas. Advent is the latin word for “coming” and the ritual, celebrated the four Sundays prior to Christmas day, is meant to remind people of Jesus coming into the world. So, for first of Advent I thought I would share books that are coming at the end of this year!

NOV 28: The Fate of the Tearling by Erika Johansen

images.jpg

I have been waiting for the last instillation of The Queen of the Tearling for a year! The Queen of the Tearling, Kelsea is raised far away from her kingdom and is returned to rule on her 18th birthday. The story takes us far across this world and sails into our own. Albeit, some of the writing is drab but the characters make up for it. Kelsea is a strong, self-assured woman and it is a wonderful experience to watch her story unfold.

NOV 29: To Capture What We Cannot Keep by Beatrice Colin

25901561.jpg

I have seen this cover EVERYWHERE in the book community! All I know is that it’s a historical fiction and supposedly written beautifully. I’m kind of felling in that mood right now; Paris is my favourite city of all time and winter is my favourite season! The Amazon blurb reads as follows: “Set against the construction of the Eiffel Tower, this novel charts the relationship between a young Scottish widow and a French engineer who, despite constraints of class and wealth, fall in love.”

DEC 6: In Sunlight or In Shadow: Stories Inspired by the Paintings of Edward Hopper by Lawrence Block

51KQb4bzgrL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

NO ONE KNOWS HOW MUCH I LOVE EDWARD HOPPER!!!! Or maybe everyone knows because I yell it out any chance I get. My love for Edward Hopper’s paintings is on the level that I will tear up at the sight of one. So, I can’t wait to pick up these short stories inspired by Edward Hopper’s paintings. I really hope the author manages to make them justice.

 

Leave a Reply

