toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish in June 2010. Each week they will post a new Top Ten list  that everyone is welcome to do!


Top Ten New-To-Me Authors I Read For The First Time In 2016


I have been looking forward to write this post because I have become a fan of so many authors this year! I might not reach but we will see how far I get.

  1. The first author I thought of when I read this weeks Top Ten Topic was Patrick Ness. He has definitely become one of my favourite authors of all time. His writing is very simple; despite the simple language he manages to relay an incredibly powerful message. That is fucking magic. My friend that has only been speaking English for a few years and doesn’t read in any language picked up my copy of A Monster Calls (because she’s doing research on the cancer medication that is mentioned in the book) and absolutely fell in love with it! All my sisters have read A Monster Calls, including my sister that has dyslexia and has anxiety from reading could get through it. I am so thankful for his writing…*
  2. Erika Johansen is the author behind the Tearling trilogy that I am completely head over heels for. Although I’m not that enamoured with the formatting of her books I thoroughly enjoy her characters. She writes in such a subtle and diverse way that makes you question our own skewed society. The Tearling is a perfect example of what happens when we follow one man’s idea of a utopia…
  3. Yeah, I will never stop talking about Hanya Yanigahara because she is the best writer in the world. Although she isn’t primarily a writer, she’s a magazine editor, I can’t wait for her to leave her job and become a full time author. I will eat the literary poison out of her palms… More please. More poison.
  4. This isn’t a new favourite author but Gail Carriger has written the Parasole Protectorate series that is about a female detective falling for a werewolf. I have never in my life laughed as much as when I was listening to this audiobook. There are, I think, five more books to the series and I will listen to them all!

For more of what I’ve read this year you can follow me on Twitter, Goodreads, and Tumblr.

Make sure to check out this twitter thread of books I have read this year in gifs.

*I just called my mom and told her about writing this post and she told me that she wants to thank Patrick Ness (she thinks blogging is like messaging authors…) for writing in a way that is accessible to people on different reading levels. Both with A Monster Calls and The Rest Of Us Just Live Here.

Leave a Reply

