_jzkwpjl-1

Every Wednesday I will be posting a Wonder Crush Wednesday topic which will be dedicated to shed light on diversity, inclusion, and positive representation in literature.


For this week I thought I’d update you on my reading this month and do some gunshot reviews! My #DiversityDecBingo currently looks like this:

Untitled drawing.jpg

Spider-Men by Brian Michael Bendis starstarstarstar

Absolutely incredible and tear-jerking. I love how sharp the contrast is between Peter Parker and Miles Morale. Spider-man has always been my favourite Marvel superhero and despite Peter Parker being such an incredible character I love how the torch was kind of handed off to Miles. Although, Miles and Peter are working to defeat Mysterio it becomes secondary and it’s ultimately more about Peter saying goodbye to his Nan and everyone.

Teaching My Mother To Give Birth by Warsan Shire starstarstar

You can read my opinion on this poetry collection in last weeks post.

Interim Goddess of Love by Mina V Esguerra starstarstar

This was recommended to me after I announced that I might not finish Diversity December Bingo because I don’t like my picks. This was an incredibly light and fast read that I was enamoured with immediately. There were some things that didn’t click with me but overall it was just a fluffy feel-good short book. I can’t wait to pick up the follow-up and hand them over to my sister.

When The Moon Was Ours by Anna-Marie McLemore

I’ve currently stopped reading it but I am planning to force myself to finish it… Not because I want to prove something but because I only have about 60 pages left and it seems stupid to DNF it after having suffered through 80% of it. This is the saddest I’ve ever been about a book not reaching up to its potential…

For more of what I’ve read this year you can follow me on Twitter, Goodreads, and Tumblr. Make sure to check out this twitter thread of books I have read this year in gifs.

6 thoughts on “Wonder Crush Wednesday: #DiversityDecBingo progress part 2

    1. Ah I loved yours! I’ve added the Zodiac Starforce to my TBR and now I can’t wait to read Labyrinth Lost… I was supposed to read it for the challenge but it’s at home and I’m at uni and I’m not going back for another week. By the way, my name is also Yasmin! That’s so cool haha

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

