_jzkwpjl-1

Every Wednesday I will be posting a Wonder Crush Wednesday topic which will be dedicated to shed light on diversity, inclusion, and positive representation in literature.


In just a few days, December and the year 2016 will be over! I’m trying very hard to finish my reading goals for this month but have been met with a lot of difficulties. Since Christmas I have been working night shifts at the ER and it has been chaotic… Sometimes there will be a bit of time to read a few pages but this year has been catastrophic. The books I had picked for this month have also been… incredibly boring! It’s been very hard to get through them and I’ve had to DNF a few.

Today I finally finished When The Moon Was Ours by Ann-Marie McLemore. I only had 30 pages left for the past two weeks but I just couldn’t bring myself to finish it. Magical realism is just not my thing… I didn’t get the end, there was no big resolution to the massive buildup.

Then I started reading Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock by Matthew Quick, author to one of my all time favourite books The Silver-Linings Playbook. I had not read what it was about and thought I would love it because it was a Matthew Quick book and it would fit under the category “Neurodiversity”. I thought two birds one stone, until I got a few pages in.

Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock takes us into the mind of a teenage boy planning a school shooting and suicide. We begin at the beginning of the day and follow his otherwise normal routine on this abnormal day. Before he executes his plan he has some people that he wants to say good-bye to. And I guess, not having finished the book, his last encounters with them makes him rethink his decision.

Here’s the catch, I’m incredibly creeped out by the main character. It’s incredibly claustrophobic being inside his head and seeing the world from his eyes. White guys scare the living shit out of me, to the point where I can’t cross the street if no one else is crossing because I imagine a white guy will see me and decide to run me over. And I am petrified of walking on the sides of the train platform incase they decide to push me over. I know it’s an irrational fear and that ANYONE not just white guys can commit these offences but that’s what my mind goes to…

So, I decided to pick another book at random and I got my hands on The Shock of the Fall by Nathan Filer. I don’t know much about it more than the short blurb on the back of the book:

“I’ll tell you what happened because it will be a really good way to introduce my brother. His name’s Simon. I think you’re going to like him. I really do. But in a couple of pages he’ll be dead. And he was never the same after that.” – The Shock of the Fall by Nathan Filer

Without meaning to, it turned out to also fit under the “Neurodiversity” category… So, it all kinda worked out in the end. Although I’m only a few pages in I’m hoping to get through it tomorrow or the day after! I rarely go into books blind but this month has been all kinds of crazy and weird!

Below is my progress chart:

Untitled drawing.jpg

3 thoughts on “Wonder Crush Wednesday: #DiversityDecBingo part 2

Leave a Reply

