_jzkwpjl-1

This weeks post will fully be devoted to the one and only Wonder Woman!


167115.jpg

Background Info:

Psychologist William Moulton Marston believed that the only chase we stood to have peace was for everyone to adopt a feminine submissiveness in compromises.

In a 1943 issue of The American Scholar, Marston wrote: “Not even girls want to be girls so long as our feminine archetype lacks force, strength, and power. Not wanting to be girls, they don’t want to be tender, submissive, peace-loving as good women are. Women’s strong qualities have become despised because of their weakness. The obvious remedy is to create a feminine character with all the strength of Superman plus all the allure of a good and beautiful woman.”

He wanted a female superhero to show women and men how a more compassionate philosophy, a utopian feminism, could save the world. Thus, Wonder Woman or Diana Prince was born. Although, his philosophy might now be regarded as slightly skewed and misguided, William Moulton Marston birthed Wonder Woman from feminist ideals and would watch her grow to the prominent fictional feminist icon she has become today.


1770585-wonder_woman___perfect_face_ed_benes_color.jpg

DC Comics Reading Guide:

Personally I don’t like DC that much but I have started some of the Wonder Woman, so the following is my personal list that I’m planning to follow.

  1. Wonder Woman: Spirit of Truth by Paul Dini [Amazon]
  2. Wonder Woman: Gods & Mortals by George Pérez [Amazon]
  3. Wonder Woman: Odyssey by J. Michael Straczynski [Amazon]
  4. Wonder Woman: Who is Wonder Woman? by Allan Heinberg [Amazon]
  5. Brian Azzarello and Cliff Chang’s Wonder Woman Run (Volume 1-6) [Volume 1: Amazon]

I know there is loads more but this is how I’ve planned to read them because I heard these were the best! But I might not read them because I prefer Marvel… We’ll see!

 


21125680._SY540_.jpg

Book adaptation:

The Queen done did it! Leigh Bardugo has set out to write a book with Wonder Woman in the lead and to save 2017 with her incredible writing. I love comics but there’s nothing better than hundreds of pages packed with adventure. And I’m so happy Leigh Bardugo has been given this task because no one is more fit to chronicle the adventures and life of a non-white, bisexual, powerful, superhero woman.

Goodreads blurb:

She will become one of the world’s greatest heroes: WONDER WOMAN. But first she is Diana, Princess of the Amazons. And her fight is just beginning…

Diana longs to prove herself to her legendary warrior sisters. But when the opportunity finally comes, she throws away her chance at glory and breaks Amazon law—risking exile—to save a mere mortal. Even worse, Alia Keralis is no ordinary girl and with this single brave act, Diana may have doomed the world.

Alia just wanted to escape her overprotective brother with a semester at sea. She doesn’t know she is being hunted. When a bomb detonates aboard her ship, Alia is rescued by a mysterious girl of extraordinary strength and forced to confront a horrible truth: Alia is a Warbringer – a direct descendant of the infamous Helen of Troy, fated to bring about an age of bloodshed and misery.

Together, Diana and Alia will face an army of enemies—mortal and divine—determined to either destroy or possess the Warbringer. If they have any hope of saving both their worlds, they will have to stand side by side against the tide of war.


MV5BMzUxNjQ5MjAyOF5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwMjIzOTA1MDI@._V1_SY1000_CR0,0,674,1000_AL_.jpg

And of course, the new Wonder Woman movie that’s coming out this year that I’m incredibly excited for.

6 thoughts on “Wonder Crush Wednesday: Wonder Woman

  1. The only thing I don’t like about Comics is I never know what to read first! Especially if they have new editions (like the new 52) I’ve only read a few comics but I want to read a lot more this year. So far I’ve only read a few from Jessica Jones, Ms Marvel, Harley Quinn and Katana. I want to read a wider range, see more strong female characters
    – Yasmin

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeh me too! And it’s so hard to do research on reading order because most of them are quite old and you can never find an origin arc… But I usually google it and ask my dad, he used to love comics so he always remembers good arcs he tells me to check out. Also, check out Miles Morales Spiderman I’ve written about it soooo many times but it’s so good and so funny!! 😍😍😍 I can ask my dad about those you listed and make a reading guide post? Haven’t talked to him in a while could be a good reason to contact him 😂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I know! You would do that? Aw thank you! You’re so sweet 💖 I’ve heard about Miles Morales Spiderman before and it sounds really good, I do need to read it. I think a reading guide post would be really cool! Also super helpful, maybe ask him about some others that are really popular (Spiderman, Superman, Batman etcetera) because I’m sure a lot of people would like to know
        – Yasmin

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

