Hi guys!

I don’t know how many of you know that I am a practicing muslim. During the month of Ramadan I’m going to do a miniseries on my snapchat and here, where I answer questions about Islam and Ramadan every day. It’s going to start very factual, turn a bit philosophical, and finish with more in-depth discussions.

Ramadan is a holy month on the Islamic calendar and marks our 9th month of our year. We have 12 months (Muharram, Safar, Rabi’ Al-Awal, Rabi’ Al-Thani, Jumada Al-Awal, Jumada Al-Thani, Rajab, Sha’ban, Ramadan, Shawwal, Dhul Qi’dah, Dhul Hijjah) that follow the lunar (moon) cycle rather than the earths orbit around the sun (Gregorian calendar).

I was born on 3rd of Rabi’ Al-Awal year 1416, the name of the month means The First Spring. Whilst the Gregorian calendar counts up from the birth of Jesus, we count up from the year the Prophet Muhammad migrated from Mecca to Medina.

Interestingly, in Iraq we follow a few calendars. Although most adhere to the Gregorian calendar(Janurary to December), the names used for the months are derived from the Babylonian calendar commonly used in Judaism. The months are; Canon Al-Thani, Shebat, Athar, Nisa, Ayar, Haziran, Tammuz, Ab, Aylul, Tishrin Al-Awal, Thishrin Al-Thani, Canon Al-Awal. Meanwhile, religious cities adhere to the lunar Hijra calendar.

You’re welcome to comment anything you’ve always wondered and I’ll try to answer it as best I can.

I will try to consult and disclose as many sources as I can!

Leave a Reply

