I need some order. I’m the most chaotic person I know. People might view me as highly organised (with my three diaries and two large calendars on my wall) but to me I’m the messiest person there is. Without structure and lists and planning I feel out of control, which I don’t like.

So, for my own benefit I’m going to make a rough draft of my TBR this summer. Hopefully I get all of the reading done and maybe even more! I’ve smashed my foot black and blue (not broken but heavily bruised and torn) and I’ve got 2 weeks off work to recuperate so I hope I get a lot of reading done!

My original TBR was to reread ASOIAF and The Fellowship of the Ring but that just seems tiring, I’m scrapping that idea because it will confuse me to read ASOIAF whilst the TV series is going so I’m putting that off for later. And LOTR is better to read whilst I’m in uni so I’m putting that off until after summer.


Shadow & Bone by Leigh Bardugo

After Six of Crows, Leigh Bardugo has become one of my favourite writers. They’re remaking the Shadow and Bone covers but I really like the old ones so I picked them up with a 10% discount from Bookdepository.

Goodreads blurb:

Surrounded by enemies, the once-great nation of Ravka has been torn in two by the Shadow Fold, a swath of near impenetrable darkness crawling with monsters who feast on human flesh. Now its fate may rest on the shoulders of one lonely refugee.

Alina Starkov has never been good at anything. But when her regiment is attacked on the Fold and her best friend is brutally injured, Alina reveals a dormant power that saves his life—a power that could be the key to setting her war-ravaged country free. Wrenched from everything she knows, Alina is whisked away to the royal court to be trained as a member of the Grisha, the magical elite led by the mysterious Darkling.

Yet nothing in this lavish world is what it seems. With darkness looming and an entire kingdom depending on her untamed power, Alina will have to confront the secrets of the Grisha…and the secrets of her heart.

Untitled-2.jpg


Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

This book has been everywhere the past year and now, with the movie coming out with the adorable Nick Robinson, I have to read it! From what I’ve gathered it’s about a closeted gay guy that is being threatened to being outed. I’ve heard all sorts about it making me incredibly anxious to read it!

Goodreads blurb:

19547856.jpgSixteen-year-old and not-so-openly gay Simon Spier prefers to save his drama for the school musical. But when an email falls into the wrong hands, his secret is at risk of being thrust into the spotlight. Now Simon is actually being blackmailed: if he doesn’t play wingman for class clown Martin, his sexual identity will become everyone’s business. Worse, the privacy of Blue, the pen name of the boy he’s been emailing, will be compromised.

With some messy dynamics emerging in his once tight-knit group of friends, and his email correspondence with Blue growing more flirtatious every day, Simon’s junior year has suddenly gotten all kinds of complicated. Now, change-averse Simon has to find a way to step out of his comfort zone before he’s pushed out—without alienating his friends, compromising himself, or fumbling a shot at happiness with the most confusing, adorable guy he’s never met.


Trainspotting by Irvine Welsh

This is one of my dad’s favourite movies of all time and he can go on about it for hours. Coincidentally Filth is one of MY favourite movies and I’ve seen it a million times. They’re both based on books by Irvine Welsh so when I saw this, I had to pick it up! The best way to describe this book is by showing the trailer.

Trainspotting-poster.jpg


American Gods by Neil Gaiman

x500.pngSince the TV show is going big I really need to reread this and FINISH it this time… I just remember it being incredibly weird but I liked it. To be honest, I don’t remember why I didn’t finish it. Looking forward to getting back into girls sucking guys into their pussy and all that weird shit!

Goodreads blurb:

Days before his release from prison, Shadow’s wife, Laura, dies in a mysterious car crash. Numbly, he makes his way back home. On the plane, he encounters the enigmatic Mr Wednesday, who claims to be a refugee from a distant war, a former god and the king of America.

Together they embark on a profoundly strange journey across the heart of the USA, whilst all around them a storm of preternatural and epic proportions threatens to break.


I hope I get through this list. Last year I finished 20 books during summer, this summer I hope I get through 10… The reading slump is real!


FOR MORE OF WHAT I’VE READ THIS YEAR YOU CAN FOLLOW ME ON TWITTERGOODREADS, AND TUMBLR. MAKE SURE TO CHECK OUT THIS TWITTER THREAD OF BOOKS I HAVE READ IN 2016 AS GIFS
Leave a Reply

